Mobile friendly is the web trend of 2014, mainly because web visits from mobile devices have skyrocketed up to nearly 50 percent. With that in mind, half of your potential web traffic could be from a mobile device, meaning that if your website isn’t loading quickly for phone and tablet users, you are loosing viable sales and leads by the handful. Unfortunately, you might not have any real idea of what to spend on your website upgrades for making your site mobile friendly. If that sounds like you, keep reading these tips from your Seattle web development team to find out how you can settle on a budget.
Consider Your ROI
The first thing to consider is how much you can afford to spend for your mobile budget. Sure, you could say ‘nothing’, and that is the easiest answer, but try taking a look at your web analytics. Google Analytics is fine. How many of your visitors are from mobile? How many of them turn into sales? How high is your exit rate (people leaving within 3 seconds?), and how high is your conversion rate for computer users? If you have a 0.03% conversion rate with a low number like 1,000 browser visits a day, and 30% of your visits are from a mobile, but they’re all exiting fairly quickly, your looking at one extra sale a day from your mobile users. That’s not taking into account that mobile users are usually looking to make a purchase, or that most websites have an average conversion rate of 2-3%, and sometimes more like 10%. With those statistics in mind, you could be looking at an extra 9 sales per day, rather than 1. If you’re selling low budget items that earn you a median of $3 per, that’s still an extra $27 a day, and if you’re earning more like $10, that’s up to an additional $90 a day, or an extra $21,000 a year if you’re sales are consistent. You may be driving more or less traffic, but you can probably see how you can use your current data to estimate a basic ROI.
Use that ROI
Once you have your estimated ROI in hand, you can use it to set your budget. First, you can’t rely on your estimated ROI to be static. For example, you may or may not drive the same number of sales every day, your sales may go up, and you might change products. There are a lot of variables, so you cannot rely on earning that specific amount of money. Instead, use it as a generalization. Usually, it’s best to hedge your bets and go on the safe side by spending less than you would earn in a 6 month period. So, for example, if you were making an extra $300 a month with mobile sales, you could estimate that if you spend $1200 on making your website mobile friendly, you’re still around $600 under what you could potentially earn with your estimated ROI.
Want to know more? Contact us at Rory Martin to find out how our Seattle web development team can get you ready for mobile traffic.